Vertebrate Project: Kangaroo

Kangaroo Facts

 

  1. There are four different species of kangaroos:  the red kangaroo, eastern grey kangaroo, western grey kangaroo, and the antelopine kangaroo.
  2. Kangaroos are marsupials, animals that are found in Australia as well as New Guinea.
  3. Kangaroos can jump about 30 feet in a single bound and travel more than 30 miles.
  4. Kangaroos stomp on the ground to warn other kangaroos of danger.
  5. All four kinds of kangaroos can hop around quickly on two legs or walk around on all four.

3 Comments


  1. Hi this is Frog’s blog. I never knew that Kangaroos can hop 30 feet! You did a good job on your project. You learned a lot about Kangaroos!

    Reply

  2. Wow, I didn’t know these facts about kangaroos. I had idea they have endurance for 30 miles of travel; that’s a lot of hopping!

    Reply

  3. Hello,
    I just love kangaroos. It always looks so cute to have the baby’s headpoking out of the mother’s pouch. Good work on learnng and sharing about kangaroos. I didn’t know there are four different ones. How do you tell them apart? Are red kangaroos really red?
    Now I have to go and read upon kangaroos! You made me want to know more!
    Marg
    #StUBC commenter

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *